TCC: Statement Against Hate



August 28, 2017


We, the undersigned, as elected representatives of the people of Texas, condemn in the strongest terms hate groups, which discriminate against people on the basis of innate characteristics such as race, culture, nationality, religion, and sex.

America is the greatest experiment in freedom for all and equality under the law in the history of human affairs. Yet, to the immense regret of all Americans of goodwill, there are many times that we have fallen short of our fondest ideals. There are no justifications for some of the darker episodes of our national history: including the repulsive institution of slavery, the forced removal of Native Americans from their ancestral lands, the internment of Japanese Americans during the Second World War, or the legacy of institutionalized segregation that lasted until a mere half-century ago. These are national memories that deserve opprobrium, and remind us of our higher calling as a nation as manifest in the heroism of all those who stood against such injustice, notably Abraham Lincoln and the Rev. Martin Luther King.

Blessedly, however, the American story, in the main, is one of the expansion of the rights of citizenship, and of ever greater inclusion into the fabric of our society, as we strive to become a “More Perfect Union.” Even so, there are those today who would reverse the social compact our Founders and Forefathers risked all to achieve. Those who would vilify, render politically mute, and socially marginalize others based on their innate and God-given characteristics have lost sight of the ideals of citizenship and our shared humanity

Hateful groups active today have explicitly advocated genocidal intent. Today there are those who draw their inspiration from the Nazi Party or from communist tyrants like Lenin, Mao, and Castro. Such ideologies are so dangerous – to social cohesion today and to peace and prosperity in the future – that the need to reject them goes beyond ordinary politics. All voices in the public sphere must be clear in the condemnation of these miscreants.

The history of this Great Republic – both our triumphs and our failures – must be studied, understood, and never forgotten. Those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it, as the aphorism goes. Disastrously, over the last several decades, some in our society have already forgotten their history and condemned the United States as an “institutionally racist” nation. This is the nation that wrote the Freedom of Religion into our Bill of Rights; that fought a great and terrible civil war to abolish the evils of chattel slavery; and that led the Free World to the defeat of fascism and communism. In fact, our nation is institutionally egalitarian in guaranteeing equal rights under the law to all.  For every one of our national sins, there has been national redemption for in the end, justice prevailed.

Texas conservatives speak clearly: we stand by the US and Texas Constitutions; we draw inspiration from the Declaration of Independence and the Gettysburg address; and we oppose, condemn, and reject those vile movements that advocate hate, violence and subjugation of any people, all of whom are endowed by their Creator with unalienable rights to life, liberty and property which no government, no movement, and no individual can take away.


  • Senator Brian Birdwell
  • Senator Paul Bettencourt
  • Senator Donna Campbell, M.D.
  • Senator Brandon Creighton
  • Senator Craig Estes
  • Senator Don Huffines
  • Senator Lois Kolkhorst
  • Senator Jane Nelson
  • Senator Charles Perry
  • Senator Larry Taylor
  • Representative Rodney Anderson
  • Representative Dwayne Bohac
  • Representative Dennis Bonnen
  • Representative Greg Bonnen, M.D.
  • Representative Cindy Burkett
  • Representative Dustin Burrows
  • Representative Angie Chen Button
  • Representative Scott Cosper
  • Representative John Cyrier
  • Representative Tony Dale
  • Representative Drew Darby
  • Representative Jay Dean
  • Representative Gary Elkins
  • Representative Wayne Faircloth
  • Representative Dan Flynn
  • Representative James Frank
  • Representative Craig Goldman
  • Representative Justin Holland
  • Representative Todd Hunter
  • Representative Jason Isaac
  • Representative Phil King
  • Representative Stephanie Klick
  • Representative Matt Krause
  • Representative Stan Lambert
  • Representative Brooks Landgraf
  • Representative Jodie Laubenberg
  • Representative Jeff Leach
  • Representative Will Metcalf
  • Representative Rick Miller
  • Representative Geanie Morrison
  • Representative Tom Oliverson, M.D.
  • Representative Tan Parker
  • Representative Dennis Paul
  • Representative Kevin Roberts
  • Representative Scott Sanford
  • Representative Matt Shaheen
  • Representative Ron Simmons
  • Representative Drew Springer
  • Representative Lynn Stucky
  • Representative Ed Thompson
  • Representative Jason Villalba
  • Representative Paul Workman