Statement on Special Session Priority to Limit Involuntary Annexation


Contact: John Colyandro

AUSTIN – The Texas Conservative Coalition (TCC) today issued the following release regarding Governor Abbott’s special session priority item to limit local municipalities’ ability to forcibly annex unincorporated geographical areas without a vote from the property owners who would be impacted.

Texas’ current annexation laws allow cities to force property owners just outside of city limits to become residents, without giving them a vote or ability to petition the matter. As a result, these property owners are made responsible for the city’s existing debt and are frequently subjected to higher taxes and new regulations.

SB 6 by Senator Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels) will empower property owners to challenge forced annexation by requiring cities to have voter approval before annexing an area.  “Our nation was founded on the right to determine who governs us, yet forced annexation gives cities the ability to determine who they will govern,” said Campbell.  SB 6 has already cleared the Committee process and is headed to the full Senate for a vote.

Representative Jeff Leach (R-Plano), also a member of TCC and co-author of HB 6 that also reigns in annexation practices, said: “Citizens must have the right to vote as part of the annexation process.  By doing so, we will restore property rights to landowners, bring greater accountability to local governments and limit big cities’ ability to tax and spend without approval. We must make passing legislation to reform annexation a top priority this special session.”

Texas is in a minority of states that still permit involuntary annexation. Support for this legislation continues to grow as 17 TCC members have signed on in support of the effort, including:

  • Senator Paul Bettencourt
  • Senator Brandon Creighton
  • Senator Kelly Hancock
  • Senator Charles Schwertner
  • Representative Cecil Bell
  • Representative Dwayne Bohac
  • Representative Dennis Bonnen
  • Representative Briscoe Cain
  • Representative Cole Hefner
  • Representative Mark Keough
  • Representative Stephanie Klick
  • Representative Matt Krause
  • Representative Mike Lang
  • Representative Matt Rinaldi
  • Representative Matt Shaheen
  • Representative Ron Simmons
  • Representative James White